The Virginian-Pilot's Annual Slover Awards

The Virginian-Pilot's annual Slover Awards recognition event was held today at the Slover Library in Norfolk. These awards, named for Pilot founder Samuel L. Slover, recognize outstanding journalism in news and feature writing, photography and design. Journalists from around the country served as judges. These judges noted that our award winning work is some of the best they've seen in the nation. Read the article on

Congratulations to this year's Slover Awards recipients:

Second Place - Bill Tiernan
First Place - Rich-Joseph Facun

Feature Writing:
Honorable Mention - Mike Hixenbaugh
Second Place - Lorraine Eaton
First Place - Rashod Ollison

Honorable Mention - Wes Watson
Second Place - Lisa Merklin
First Place - Sam Hundley

Sports Reporting:
Honorable Mention - Lee Tolliver
First Place - Ed Miller

Beat Reporting:
Fourth Place - Lorraine Eaton
Third Place - Elizabeth Simpson
Second Place - Tim Eberly
First Place - Mike Hixenbaugh

Honorable Mention - Mike Hixenbaugh
Second Place - John Holland
First Place - Sarah Kleiner Varble